Dear sleep

image

Dear sleep,

Will you ever forgive me?

It’s been four months since you left me. My heart aches for your return. My body yearns to feel your gentle caress once again.

It’s true, you don’t know what you’ve got till it’s gone. Back then, you were around all time, you were so available to me and I took you for granted. What a fool I was.

All those nights I spent out at dinners, parties and gigs, while you waited patiently at home. I always had something better to do, someone more interesting to hang out with, safe in the comfort that you’d still be there for me when I stumbled through the door.

All those mornings when you wanted me to stay beside you, but I insisted on going to the gym or getting an early start at work. If I had my time again, I’d cuddle up to you all day and I’d tell you how much you mean to me, how much I love you. I’d never let you go.

I think about you all the time. Sometimes I fantasise about you in the most unlikely places, like when I’m in the supermarket or vacuuming the floor. I dream that we go away together, just you and me, and we spend days and days wrapped in each other’s arms. Thoughts of you never completely leave my mind.

I long for the day when we may meet again. Who knows? Maybe you could come around one night? One thing may lead to another and you might even stay with me until morning?

Wherever you are, whoever you’re with, I hope you’re doing well. In the meantime, I’ll remember the happier times – afternoons on the beach, movie nights on the couch – and console myself with the memories of my tender, generous and lost friend.

I guess what I’m really trying to say is, sleep, I miss you. Will you forgive me? Will you ever come back?

With all my love,
Bernadette

image

Leave a Reply

